Bowl Green Fills My Soul

Bridge over Tennessee River.

Bridge over the Tennessee River at Clarksville.

I can taste Tennessee on my tongue buds …

Bowl green fills my soul with the scent of insect love
steering with my knee, listening to Merle but thinking of Eddie Rabbit
anglers dream below exit 42, neon morning green and magenta
hot road Packard, beige body with red top dusts past
swearing off heavy breakfasts on the road, leave for the truckers

Cadiz, Hopkinsville, then Nashville a hundred and six
hundred since the fill-up, still more than three-quarter tank
dream over Lake Barkley at seventy-two
red Geo, old lady driving at ten and two

Mustang GT club headed west toward a speed trap
Pembroke and the Jefferson Davis Memorial
I can taste Tennessee on my tongue buds

Asphalt laydowners and Leavell for Sheriff, Exit One, Tennessee
greeted by trooper in the median, Fort Campbell
and the last train to Clarksville, hurrah, hurrah

Leave a Reply

