Chicago, So Much To Love

Just hanging around Rogers Park.

Just hanging around Rogers Park.

The circle is now complete. I pass the farmers market and Morse El station where I fled the train hours before. South on Glenwood Avenue, and the walls of the elevated train line are splashed with murals of faces and masks, jazz combos behind tea shades. The paint and color struggle with the crumbling of the concrete, and trees have grown out from along the tracks ten feet above to partially shelter the road. Just past the Lifeline Theater I stop for a moment at a sculpture garden near Farwell and Glenwood. A twenty-something couple walks by. The man says “I can’t believe I dropped it on my fucking foot!” and the woman walking next to him says “You want me to drop something on the other foot to make it even?”

Chicago. So much to love.

Leave a Reply

