Stoking The Fires Of Light

The light that soothes the jingle-jangle.

The light that soothes the jingle-jangle.

I follow the jingle-jangle of a thousand lost souls and climb the steps of First United. Parishioner William is seated just inside the door, sipping coffee in an angelic white suit. I have missed the Sunday service, so the church is empty. The oculus in the dome glows an amber green, shining a light on the rainbow banner hanging high above the vacant pews. This is not Hagia Sophia or the Pantheon, but it is most impressive. Pastor Catiana McKay tells me about goings-on and the local peace pole, but has to run. I move around the pews and see the industrial fans in the corners to keep the fires of light stoked. I missed the service, but no matter. Like Roger Daltrey I get on my knees and pray I don’t get fooled again.

Leave a Reply

